No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miseq questions from a newbie

Hi,

I'm new in the sequencing world (apart from standard courses in university).
    I've prepared an RNAseq library using the Scriptseq protocol from Epicentre. Together with a co-worker we sequenced it on a V2 150bp (300 cycles) cassette. Now I'm learning more about sequencing, I'm wondering why we used this cassette and not another one.

Next week, I'm going to prepare a library of small RNA's for sequencing. The fragment size will be around 147 bp (sequence itself + adaptor + indices). But my boss told me to order the v2 cartridge of 50 cycles. Now I'm wondering how long the reads will be that come out of it. If it is 2 x25bp, won't the Miseq read only the adaptor and never the sequences of interest itself?

I'm sorry if these are really silly question, I'm just getting the hang of it.

Oh and another question.
    Why is sequencing of a PCR fragment on a Miseq overkill?

Comment

Number of cycles is equal to number of bases you are going to get for each sequence read. So your 50 cycle single-end run will yield 50bp from (let us just say from left end) of a fragment. If you did a paired-end 50 cycle run then that will give you an additional 50 bp of sequence (from the right end) of the SAME fragment.

So for a ~150 bp fragment
      Code:
            DNA Fragment         ----------------------------
            Single-end (50 bp)   --------->
                                                   <--------- Paired-end (50 bp)
      Sequencing PCR fragments is something people do all the time on MiSeq. It is a popular application for MiSeq.

Comment

So my thinking was right, 50 cycles for a fragment of +/- 147 bp, will not cover the sequence in the middle? 50 bp from the right and 50 bp from the left, still leaves 47 bp in the middle.