Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Samtools rmdup in a stream

I'm trying the following strategy to remove duplicates from small subsets of interest:

samtools view -b test.bam chr1:7660315-7660315 | samtools rmdup - - | samtools view -

...but it doesn't seem to remove anything. Am I doing something wrong syntactically, or do I perhaps have some of that data that rmdup doesn't work on? How do I tell if I have FR orientation, or if ISIZE is correctly set? (I'm new to using BAMs, and I don't create them myself.)

Here's a sample line.

938_1080_925 16 chr1 590592 0 30M * 0 0 TCATGTCAACTGCAAACAGAAACAATTTAA :BIIIICIIIIIIIIIHIIIIIIIIIIIII RG:Z:0 CS:Z:T003003011002211001312101211312 CQ:Z:?0>59;7=/;=><54<5<39?/@/5>3A):

(And yes, according to other posts, "I should really use Picard for this". But that has weird Java problems on my system that I don't have the time or permissions to fix.)

Thanks!

For samtools, you must set ISIZE correctly; otherwise it won't work. If you have single-end reads, use rmdup -s. To use Picard, you must have MRNM and MPOS set correctly for paired end reads (so far as I know). Picard is more theoretically correct about duplicates. You may see tiny differences between samtools and Picard results, but in practice this does not matter too much.

Comment

Thanks, but I don't know if I have ISIZE set correctly or if I have single-end reads. Those are my actual questions.

Comment

You need to read the sam format specifications:
        Look it up on google.
        Column number 9 is the Inferred insert SIZE (ISIZE). If all of those in your file are 0, then you have single ends (or no read mapped to the reference )

Comment

Originally posted by Pepe View Post
          You need to read the sam format specifications:
          Look it up on google.
          Column number 9 is the Inferred insert SIZE (ISIZE). If all of those in your file are 0, then you have single ends (or no read mapped to the reference )