Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Differential gene expression: Can Cufflinks/Cuffcompare handle biological replicates?

I am new to this RNAseq business and I would like to use it to measure differential gene expression between wild-type and mutant mouse brains.

I have designed my experiment to have 4 biological replicates each for case and control.

I really like bowtie/tophat and would like to use cufflinks/cuffdiff to measure diff gene expression, but I can't seem to find a way to make cuffdiff handle biological replicates (which I would hope is the way everybody designs their experiments )... am I missing something? Alternatively, I could use R packages like DESeq, but it's not easy - at least for me - to extract raw counts from cufflinks output (using awk at the moment)... it would be a great additional feature for cufflinks to output unnormalized read counts for each feature alongside FPKM values to avoid extra-steps and make it simpler and more versatile for beginner's use.

I would greatly appreciate any feedback from this community of experts!

Cheers

You can use htseq-count to extract raw counts.

Simon

Comment

Originally posted by Simon Anders View Post
      You can use htseq-count to extract raw counts.
      Dear Simon,

indeed I have very much enjoyed using HTSeq tools and I am looking forward to use DESeq. However, I would love to see an integrated solution such as bowtie>tophat>cufflinks because I would like to perform the analysis using two different set of tools and make sure the results match to a large extent.

In regards to htseq-count this is my oversimplified pipeline at the moment (disclaimer: I have been doing RNAseq analysis for only a few days now):

- run tophat using the RefSeq reference in GFF format without novel junctions discovery which outputs 'accepted_hits.sam'

- run cufflinks on 'accepted_hits.sam' using the RefSeq reference in GTF format which outputs 'transcripts.gtf'