SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blast2go result to WEGO letusgo Bioinformatics 8 01-07-2013 07:46 PM
Using Blast2go on a Mac abrown1 Bioinformatics 0 05-25-2012 12:32 PM
Processing Blast output for Blast2GO JueFish Bioinformatics 3 10-29-2011 06:37 AM
Need ideas about the advantages of Blast2Go byou678 Bioinformatics 5 08-27-2011 10:47 AM
Analyse short reads using blast2go rururara Bioinformatics 1 04-12-2011 03:19 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2012, 11:28 AM   #1
islandemiaj
Junior Member
 
Location: São Paulo

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default Help to use Blast2go

Hello,

Could anyone show me what I'm doing wrong: I import the blast results in xml. After that I go to Tools -> database configuration, and use a local database. The problem occurs when I start mapping, this process start well but after some time the program lock. This is relationated with the program's memory?

Thanks in advance,
islandemiaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 12:57 AM   #2
gprakhar
Member
 
Location: India

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 78
Default

Hello,

Might be RAM issue, Blast2go uses a lot of memory.
For our node with 96 Gb RAM, we still have to split the blast xml results and then run Blast2Go.

Try spliting the xml input and then run.

--
pg
gprakhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:39 AM   #3
JackieBadger
Senior Member
 
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 381
Default

Open the java file in a text edit program. At the bottom it should say something like
"<j2se version="1.5+" initial-heap-size="64m" max-heap-size="2048M"/>"

Delete " max-heap-size="2048M" " and save the file.

This removes any cap on memory allocation and hopefully will work
JackieBadger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:09 AM   #4
islandemiaj
Junior Member
 
Location: São Paulo

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the replies,

I was using less RAM and also was using an earlier java version.

So, I updated the java and increase the maximum JVM Heap Size (-Xmx).
islandemiaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 12:13 PM   #5
monikadii
Junior Member
 
Location: Chile

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Default

hi everyone

How can I separate annotated sequences from no annotated, and then use to run blast against nr database
monikadii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 07:38 AM   #6
sgoetz
Member
 
Location: Spain

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Hi Monika.
Just use the "Select by Colour" function in Blast2GO to select sequences by their analysis status.
If you want to select all non-blue sequences just choose all the non-blue colours and than remove the existing blast results of the selected sequences to redo the blast against the NR database.

Tip: Please note that In any way, Blast2GO, by default, only blasts sequences which are not yet blasted (white, red or lila) so no need to select them specifically. Of course, if you want to redo the blast for some sequences you will have to select them and remove the blast results first.
sgoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO