SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > SOLiD



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sharing flowcell/lanes cascoamarillo Illumina/Solexa 1 03-22-2011 06:48 AM
Compiling reads from lanes Novice General 2 02-21-2011 10:24 AM
The best to process sample with 2 lanes of data? foxyg Bioinformatics 2 01-06-2011 02:25 PM
running amplicons together with non amplicon lanes dina 454 Pyrosequencing 2 07-15-2010 04:10 AM
Input to BWA from multiple Lanes AvinashP Bioinformatics 2 06-11-2010 08:24 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2011, 07:03 AM   #1
JPC
Senior Member
 
Location: Wales

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 114
Default Re-use empty lanes

I found out today that AB have a protocol for re-using empty flowcell lanes. I was told they aren't distributing it but will hand it out if requested.

I don't have it yet but I understand that there is an addition to the ICS which you can run which will dry out the cell then you tape the wholes and store it at 4 degrees where it can be kept for two weeks for re-use of empty lanes. There is an expected 10% reduction in performance over new cells.

Has anyone tried this yet? I will try it out in a few weeks when the instrument becomes available and I'll post the results here

JPC
JPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 01:14 AM   #2
RPiddock
Lab Monkey
 
Location: UK

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Hi JPC,

That definately sounds useful, do you have the protocol for that?

Thanks
RPiddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 03:25 AM   #3
JPC
Senior Member
 
Location: Wales

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Yes I have the pdf but I was asked not to circulate it as they want people to go through their own reps.
JPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 04:27 AM   #4
paolo.kunder
Member
 
Location: Milano, Italy

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 93
Default

Did Lifetech provided You the protocol or someone else?
paolo.kunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 05:07 AM   #5
pmiguel
Senior Member
 
Location: Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,317
Default

Our ABI sales rep mentioned there was a protocol for this. So I presume it is available from Lifetech/ABI -- if you have a Field Application Specialist, I would ask them.

--
Phillip
pmiguel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 04:48 AM   #6
JPC
Senior Member
 
Location: Wales

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 114
Default

Yes it was from our FAS, we haven't tried it yet but I'll post a reply when we do.
JPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
empty flowcell lane, flowcell, lane, re-use

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO