SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a RIN be obtained after running mRNA- instead of total RNA assays on Bioanalyzer? patkrat Sample Prep / Library Generation 2 08-11-2017 04:19 AM
BioAnalyzer RIN/rRNA ratio disparity JDSwenson RNA Sequencing 3 02-01-2017 07:43 PM
RIN issues & Nanodrop/Bioanalyzer disparities marymac Sample Prep / Library Generation 10 12-14-2015 10:24 AM
RIN vs Volume? hbt Sample Prep / Library Generation 1 05-02-2012 09:37 AM
RIN vs Volume? hbt Bioinformatics 1 05-02-2012 02:59 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2018, 02:50 AM   #1
fremtid1994
Junior Member
 
Location: Oslo

Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Default No RIN value output in bioanalyzer

Hi

I have just run the bioanalyzer for the first time. I was able to obtain a RIN number of 8 for my first sample, but the other one got RIN N/A. I can see that the only odd thing that differs between these two samples is that the one With no RIN value have a high rRNA ratio, of 9,0. What could the reason for this be? The electropherogram from this sample also shows a peak closly to the 28S peak.

I have search a bit on internet, but have not been able to find a Clear answere to this.
Attached Images
File Type: png Electropherogram.PNG (103.5 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by fremtid1994; 08-22-2018 at 02:58 AM.
fremtid1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2018, 06:56 AM   #2
kc3228
Junior Member
 
Location: Missouri

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
Default

It looks like you have an error on the lane and the ribosomal peaks are not being called correctly. You'll need to manually assign the 18s and 28s peaks, and address any errors in the lane before it will assign an RIN. It looks like both the 18s and 28s peaks are both being incorrectly identified--the narrower peaks look like the rRNA peaks to me. Not sure what the additional peak is, but it is definitely throwing things off and should be taken into consideration even if the software does give you a RIN.
kc3228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO