X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OLC vs de Bruijn Performance on heterogeneous 454-reads

Dear forum-members,

I've had a puzzling reply by a reviewer on the claim that:

"Differences in the accurary of assembly between heterogeneous 454- transcriptome reads between de bruijn and OLC based methods can be expected due to the different way these two algorithms work."

To this the reviewer responded by saying that "both paradigms have the same mathematical characteristics and there's not inherent advantage to either".

I'm a biologist and not a computer scientist, so pardon me If I'm being ignorant here. Could someone refer me to a good tutorial on this or explain in laymans terms why they think the reviewers response is either right or wrong?

Thanks!

It's a great question and I am not aware that there is a definitive answer.

I think it's fair to say that OLC & de Bruijn graphs are different algorithms and might be expected to produce different assemblies. Certainly that's easily tested.

Does that mean one produces more or less accurate assemblies? That would surely depend on the characteristics of the dataset and your definition of accuracy.

I think it would be fair to modify your statement to:

"Differences in the assembly between heterogeneous 454- transcriptome reads between de bruijn and OLC based methods can be expected due to the different way these two algorithms work."

However I would say that de Bruijn is not a typical algorithm for handling 454 read data which tends to be long and shallow coverage with indels, none of which suit that algorithm well.

Comment

Originally posted by thomasvangurp View Post
      To this the reviewer responded by saying that "both paradigms have the same mathematical characteristics and there's not inherent advantage to either".

DBG and OLC are inherently very different approaches, with OLC being the more flexible but heavier - OLC works better with sanger/454, but gets swamped with larger next-gen datasets.