Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is the PCR purification step between ligation and size selection necessary?

Hello,

This is my first time to construct an Illumina Paired-end library. According to the protocols, there is a PCR purification step after ligation of adapters and prior to size selection step. If I want to perform the gel size-selection before PCR enrichment, is this PCR purification step necessary?

I guess I can directly run the ligation product on a gel for size selection, but both Illumina native kit and NEBNext kit include that PCR purification step?

Best wishes,
    SK

I don't see any reason why it would be necessary or useful.

Comment

The PCR insures that your library inserts are flanked by adapters, a prerequisite for cluster formation and sequencing, and also increases the amount of library. PCR-free protocols have been used successfully, but you should quantify your library by qPCR so that only adapter-ligated molecules are measured.

Comment

Sorry, I didn't mean the PCR step. I mentioned a QIAquick PCR purification step after ligation but before size selection on a gel.

For example, the last step of "Adaptor ligation of dA-Tailed DNA" is "Purify DNA sample on one column and elute in 30uL of sterile dH2) or elution buffer" both in NEBNext kit and Illumina Paired End Library kit.

I want to know if I can directly add ligation product to a 2% gel for size selection without this purification step.
        Originally posted by HESmith View Post
        The PCR insures that your library inserts are flanked by adapters, a prerequisite for cluster formation and sequencing, and also increases the amount of library. PCR-free protocols have been used successfully, but you should quantify your library by qPCR so that only adapter-ligated molecules are measured.

Comment

Originally posted by Heisman View Post
          I don't see any reason why it would be necessary or useful.