No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is SRA format to vcf conversion possible

Hi,

I am new to SRA format. Can anyone give me an introduction.
    I wanted to convert SRA format to vcf format.
    I have checked in SRAToolkit. It does not support direct conversion of SRA to VCF. One option i am having is that first i have to convert to fastaq and then to SAM/BAM and then i should call variants.

Can anyone please help me?

This is correct. The SRA data is converted to FASTQ. Then you must map the FASTQ data to a reference genome and once you have done this, you can generate a VCF using a variant caller.

Comment

Hi,

I generated the SAM file using bowtie version0.12.7 but i am not able to generate a proper bcf file.BCF file is genertaed within 2 minutes and normally it will take time.The commands i gave is

time ./fastq-dump SRR068289.sra

I have falidated the fastaq using fastaqvalidator and it was successful

time ./bowtie -k 2 -v 2 hg19 -q /store/data/amruta/sratoolkit.2.1.8-centos_linux64/12JAN/SRR068289.fastq -S > /store/data/amruta/sratoolkit.2.1.8-centos_linux64/12JAN/bowtie1-amruta.sam

From sam file bam was generated and using samtools bcf and vcf were generated
      ./samtools view -bS bowtie1-amruta.sam > bowtie1-amruta.sam
      my.flt.vcf
      samtools sort filename.bam sorted
      samtools faidx input.reference.fa
      samtools index sortedhg19.bam
      samtools mpileup -d 8000 -uf input.reference.fa my.sortedhg19.bam | bcftools view -bvcg -> my.raw.bcf
      bcftools view my.raw.bcf | perl vcfutils.pl varFilter -D8000 > my.flt.vcf

My fastaq file is a huge in size.So i tried with bowtie 2 beta version.But i am not able to run bowtie2

./bowtie2 -x hg19 -u file.fataq -S out.sam

The error was "Error: Encountered internal Bowtie 2 exception (#1)"
      Can anyone please help

Comment

Originally posted by amruta.bn View Post
        Hi,