SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MaSuRCA installation error Febin@GC Bioinformatics 1 06-09-2017 11:10 PM
Installation error BLAT JManuelMonroyKuhn Bioinformatics 2 11-04-2014 05:58 AM
Trinity installation error JManuelMonroyKuhn Bioinformatics 7 10-30-2014 07:01 AM
Tophat 2.0.8b installation error canhu RNA Sequencing 2 05-24-2013 02:09 AM
tophat installation error bob-loblaw Bioinformatics 2 12-17-2012 12:59 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2019, 08:30 AM   #1
benitro
Junior Member
 
Location: Nebraska

Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Default Tassel 5 installation error

Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to be posting this, let me know if it belongs elsewhere please.

I am trying to install tassel 5 on a MAC (Catalina 10.15.1). Reinstalling Java made it work on a different MAC but this one is not cooperating. I keep running into an error after the files are moved/extracted: /Library/Java/Extensions/libTasselBlas.dylib could not create this file, shall I try again. And then trying again doesn't work.

I haven't tried much other than reinstalling Java, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

-Ben
benitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 10:00 PM   #2
ubs717
Junior Member
 
Location: NY

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Hi,
I have the same problem as you, anyone knows the solution??
ubs717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 04:33 AM   #3
SylvainL
Senior Member
 
Location: Geneva

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 179
Default

Is it 32 or 64 bits for the Mac version? We just received an email from our IT dpt saying that 32bits programs won't install on Catalina...
SylvainL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 06:33 AM   #4
benitro
Junior Member
 
Location: Nebraska

Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Default

There is only one MAC Version on their website, it doesn't specify 32 or 64 bit, but I'm assuming it is 64 bit. I have posted on the google group and I believe one of the developers responded by saying it needs to ask for credentials to create the file, but he didn't mention anything about 32 bit or 64 bit so I'm guessing that is not the issue but I could be wrong. We've got the software to work on other MACs and they have Sierra and High Sierra, Catalina is the one that is being problematic. Thanks for the replies, still looking for a solution.

Last edited by benitro; 11-26-2019 at 07:55 AM.
benitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 12:42 PM   #5
scotthaley
Junior Member
 
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benitro View Post
Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to be posting this, let me know if it belongs elsewhere please.

I am trying to install tassel 5 on a MAC (Catalina 10.15.1). Reinstalling Java made it work on a different MAC but this one is not cooperating. I keep running into an error after the files are moved/extracted: /Library/Java/Extensions/libTasselBlas.dylib could not create this file, shall I try again. And then trying again doesn't work.

I haven't tried much other than reinstalling Java, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

-Ben
Hi there, did you get this /Library/Java/Extensions/libTasselBlas.dylib issue figured out by chance? I'm having the same problem and have no clue on what to do. I'm on Mac Cataliina 10.15.2. Thanks.
scotthaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 12:44 PM   #6
benitro
Junior Member
 
Location: Nebraska

Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Default

No, the only solution I've found is to use a MAC with a different OS. Sorry, wish I had better news.
benitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 12:47 PM   #7
scotthaley
Junior Member
 
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks. Did you see anything in the google groups forum by chance?
scotthaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 12:49 PM   #8
benitro
Junior Member
 
Location: Nebraska

Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Default

No, I posted the same question there and even though a developer seems to be active in that group nobody ever addressed my post.
benitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 01:14 PM   #9
scotthaley
Junior Member
 
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Default Got it figured out....

SO, I got this figured out, figured I should post that here. I just went to the /Library/Java/Extensions folder and reset the permissions (click the folder, go to Info, and change the read/write permissions at the bottom).

Thanks,
Scott.
scotthaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 09:04 AM   #10
benitro
Junior Member
 
Location: Nebraska

Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Awesome, I'll give that a try, thanks!
benitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2020, 11:20 PM   #11
ubs717
Junior Member
 
Location: NY

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks a lot @scotthaley !!
I did exactly what you mentioned, and it worked!!!
ubs717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO