SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frozen flow cell Meliss a General 4 03-06-2019 05:42 AM
what specific sequence is used for annealing to flow cell? ein_io Illumina/Solexa 3 12-13-2011 07:56 AM
Flow cell modifications ? JYC Illumina/Solexa 2 04-08-2011 10:52 AM
Flow cell/channel terminology Calico Helicos / Direct Genomics 7 01-26-2010 07:19 AM
sequences on the flow cell suludana Illumina/Solexa 0 07-22-2008 07:51 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2011, 10:16 AM   #1
Yepler
Member
 
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Default Loading a flow cell with ssDNA (one strand only)

Hi, all-

I'm wondering if anyone has experience with loading just one strand of a ds duplex onto a flow cell. In this case, it would be the antisense (3'--5') strand, so that elongation would occur during the first round of amplification on the flow cell. Would this work and form productive clusters?

I'd be happy with comments about the logic of the idea, even if you haven't tried it before.

Thanks much!

Deb
Yepler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 12:42 PM   #2
GW_OK
Senior Member
 
Location: Oklahoma

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 411
Default

Don't we already load flowcells with ssDNA? With the 5 minute NaOH incubation right before diluting to XpM with hyb buffer 1?
GW_OK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 12:57 PM   #3
Yepler
Member
 
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Yep, we do! But it's normally denatured dsDNA and has both strands present. I want to know if I can load only one of those two strands and still get productive clusters - for simplicity's sake, assume that I have one strand biotin-labeled and captured on an avidin bead, and I denature off only the other strand.

Logically, I think it will work, but I'd like to hear other opinions (my pool of sequencing people to talk to live is pretty limited!).

ty-
Deb
Yepler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 01:18 PM   #4
kmcarr
Senior Member
 
Location: USA, Midwest

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,177
Default

Deb,

I'm having trouble understanding why you would need (want) to do this. You refer to one strand being antisense, which only makes sense in the context of the coding sequence for a gene. If your intention is, for example, directional sequencing of mRNA that is accomplished by directional library preparation protocols. If the library was not prepared in a directional manner it won't matter which strand you originally load into the flow cell.
kmcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 07:22 AM   #5
HESmith
Senior Member
 
Location: Bethesda MD

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 505
Default

Why do you doubt that it would work? As long as the end sequences are correct, either strand is capable of annealing to the flowcell.
HESmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:37 PM   #6
Yepler
Member
 
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks for the responses...I contacted someone from Illumina who agreed that it should be fine (although she was nervous about degradation).
Yepler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO