SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splitting multiple sample vcf file yl01 Bioinformatics 2 11-05-2012 02:32 AM
mpileup VCF multiple base reference indels cram Bioinformatics 1 09-19-2012 10:26 PM
Order of genotypes likelihoods for multiple alleles in vcf Karen Chait Berman Bioinformatics 0 07-18-2012 11:38 PM
Viewing multiple VCF files in Artemis coldturkey Bioinformatics 0 02-01-2012 01:45 AM
Calling multiple BAM files for SNPs and vcf newbietonextgen Bioinformatics 3 04-19-2011 11:29 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2013, 08:40 AM   #1
krawitz
Member
 
Location: Bonn

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 30
Default VCF multiple records with the same POS, why?

Hi,
I stumbled upon two entries in the VCF of NA12878 with the same position. I thought this is not allowed. I checked the vcf specifications at http://www.1000genomes.org/wiki/Anal...mat-version-41 and it actually says:
"It is permitted to have multiple records with the same POS".
Does anyone know what the advantage is of allowing mutliple records with the same POS? One could easily merge multiple records with the same POS into a single one. Mutliple alleles would then be listed in the ALT column and different genotypes in multiple vcf files would then point to these different alleles (0/1, 0/2, ...). Actually that is what vcf-merge is already doing now.
Am I missing anything?
Thanks a lot!
peter
krawitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:21 AM   #2
krawitz
Member
 
Location: Bonn

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 30
Default example

the example of NA12878 with the two POS is:

10 46999406 . A G . . . 1/1
10 46999406 . AGGG AGGGAGGTGGGGG 0/1

In my opinion one of the called genotypes must be an artifact, as this is an diploid individuum and can therefore only have one genotype at this position.

what do you think?
krawitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:47 AM   #3
BAMseek
Senior Member
 
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 124
Default

I have run into something like this, too. An insertion occurs between two adjacent positions. I think VCF lists the position before the insertion. So for example, if there was a substitution followed by an insertion, they would get the same position. You could have a situation where there is a homozygous substitution followed by an indel, and they would all be labeled as the same position, although it wouldn't make sense to combine them. Maybe it is easier to think of the insertion as position "46999406.5" (in your case, looks like it actually might be 46999409.5).

Justin
BAMseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pos, vcf

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO