Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• overlaying coverage plots

I'm trying to overlay coverage plots of individual chromosomes from different experiments to get a quick overview of probable CNVs. I've tried using simple xy plot, ggplot and plotrix packages of R (and I'm a real novice in R) but it seems that my linux machine with 64GB of memory is unable to handle the task. I've also reduced my file size by putting only the coordinates and the coverages derived from samtools pileup into a single file.

Can someone comment on this and suggest a better and more memory efficient way of doing this? Thank you.

I've found Hilbert Plots very helpful for chromosome coverage at a glance. Try http://www.bioconductor.org/packages...ilbertVis.html
    Bioconductor can encode coverage with efficient run length encoding. Your massive 64GB will be fine.
    -r

Comment

Are you doing the whole thing in R? I've been doing similar things and I've found it's a lot quicker getting the data ready in python or perl first before using R's plotting functions.
      I extract a simple list of start positions of each read from the SAM file and sort them by chromosome and position. Then I split the genome up into windows of either 50/100/500 Kb etc or 50/100/200 reads and make a file a line for each window and columns for chromosome, start, end, number of test reads and number of normal reads. I then import this file into R, and the plotting is much more painless.

Comment

Rosyme, Thanks for suggesting the HikbertVis package. It seems to plot the coverage without any problem. However, do you know how to adjust the scale on the y-axis? I have some exceptionally high coverage which skew the whole plot and ylim is not working.

Henry, how do you decide which may be the best window size to use? Do you mind sharing your script? I was actually thinking about doing something similar to the maq cns2win.