No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Get chromosome number from BLAST results

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in bioinformatics, could anyone tell me how to extract the chromosome number of each BLAST hit for a bunch of query sequences? I looked at the "hit table" but only found the start and end loci of each hit, and I knew there's chr info in standard BLAST report (txt format), it's like below, hard to manipulate on a large scale:

Query=
    Length=59

Score E
    Sequences producing significant alignments: (Bits) Value

ref|NT_039716.7| Mus musculus strain C57BL/6J chromosome X ge... 93.5 2e-17
    ref|NW_001035178.1| Mus musculus strain mixed chromosome X ge... 93.5 2e-17

ALIGNMENTS
    >ref|NT_039716.7| Mus musculus strain C57BL/6J chromosome X genomic contig, MGSCv37
    C57BL/6J
    Length=15097629

Score = 93.5 bits (50), Expect = 2e-17
    Identities = 57/60 (95%), Gaps = 1/60 (2%)
    Strand=Plus/Plus

Query 1 TACC-CTGTAGGGTTGATAAGCTTATGTTCACTATAACAATTAACACATTTGCCATTGAC 59
    |||| ||||| | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    Sbjct 1486960 TACCTCTGTAAGATTGATAAGCTTATGTTCACTATAACAATTAACACATTTGCCATTGAC 1487019

>ref|NW_001035178.1| Mus musculus strain mixed chromosome X genomic scaffold, alternate
    assembly Mm_Celera 232000009784844, whole genome shotgun
    sequence
    Length=8237495

Features flanking this part of subject sequence:
    323432 bp at 5' side: uncharacterized protein LOC211208
    337262 bp at 3' side: uncharacterized protein LOC73934

Strand=Plus/Plus

Sbjct 577313 TACCTCTGTAAGATTGATAAGCTTATGTTCACTATAACAATTAACACATTTGCCATTGAC 577372
    I am wondering whether the ASN file would contain such information (it seems not human readable?). If not, the only way I can think of is to extract chr no. from the standard report by perl or grep (another problem is I don't know how to write perl scripts)... Thanks a lot!