SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
de novo... beginner questions. Beginner De novo discovery 11 04-11-2013 09:13 PM
I'm a beginner! Help? smadbro Sample Prep / Library Generation 3 11-20-2012 07:25 PM
another beginner est_jop Introductions 3 07-15-2012 10:58 AM
Beginner dr.m.umer Epigenetics 1 09-20-2011 04:14 AM
A beginner gongzhichang Introductions 0 06-03-2011 01:55 AM

Old 03-03-2015, 09:01 PM   #1
tedwong

Default Beginner Questions

I'm a beginner to the field. I'm trying to align my reads to a reference genome. However, I'm not quite sure I understand what tophat is trying to do. In fact, I want to make sure my understanding to RNA sequencing is correct.

Let's say,

"tophat -p 8 -G genes.gtf -o C1_R1_thout genome C1_R1_1.fq C1_R1_2.fq"

From my understanding, the *.fq files are raw sequence reads generated by experiments. Those raw reads are aligned to sequences defined in a reference genome. The reference genome in this example is "genome". genes.gtf lists some known transcripts.

The point of doing it is to analyse unknown transcripts. Say, if some of my reads can't be aligned to the reference genome, we know it might mean that there's a new mutation. Am I correct?

Another question, why do we need to provide an annotation file (genes.gtf) to tophat? Tophat already has the information from the reference genome to align with?

Thanks,
tedwong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 12:53 AM   #2
dpryan
Devon Ryan

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedwong View Post
The point of doing it is to analyse unknown transcripts. Say, if some of my reads can't be aligned to the reference genome, we know it might mean that there's a new mutation. Am I correct?