No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• using bioperl to parse genome based on basepair location

Hello all
    I have a genome that I am looking to parse a genome based on another file that has a name associated with the coordinates of the specific name in the genome of my species (for this purpose I will just use the first line of the fasta file of the genome)

My coordinate file looks like the lines below
    name1 20 35
    name2 35 40
    name2 1 4
    The genome file looks like the one below
    GL849905.1 dna:scaffold:GL849905.1:1:5315331:1 REF
    TTATATTCATATATTTATATATATATATATATATATTATATATACACACACATATCCAGATACAGGCTCATAAACATGCATACACGTGTGCATATACCATGCTAAATTCGCACAAATACATATACGAATACACATACCGCACTGTGCCTTTACATATATAGAAACGTACGCATATTTGACTCACGCGCATACACACAATGCCTGCACACACACATACCTACATAATAAACATAGACTGAGATTTAGGACCAGAACTAAAGGCTCAATAAGCATTTATTAAGCACCTACAGCATGCCAAAC
    I am new to using bioperl but i know that you can implement
    $string = $seq_obj->subseq(20,35)
    to extract that specific sequence, my problem is I am working on a much bigger scale and with many more names and locations. So I know I need to open one file (the one with the names and coordinates) to loop through and substitute for the 20, 35 each time but I don't know how to accomplish this through bioperl. I can extract one string based on one location but implementing it on a grander scale is giving me problems.

Cheers
    Last edited by ninja_help; 08-06-2015, 02:15 PM.

BioPerl is great, but unless this is just one small task in the midst of several things you want to do with these sequences using BioPerl, I would recommend you turn your coordinate file into BED3 format (watch the coordinates!) and use the bedtools getfasta command to extract the sequences. It is fast and you are very close to being done already.

Comment

thanks for the reply @dgscofield

by BED3 format do you mean this under the BED format section?

Comment