No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HTSeq-count large proportion of mapped reads with no_feature

Hi,
    I am fairly new to RNA-Seq analysis and hoped someone could help me diagnose the reason why I have such a low proportion of reads mapped to features with my current method.

The experiment:
    Code:
    - Were looking at the retina in developing mice
    - I have two conditions (wild-type vs mutant), each with 4 biological replicates (8 in total).
    - RNA prepared using Illumina TruSeq stranded kit. Ribo-Zero Deplete techneque.
    - Using a pair-end 2 x 100bp HiSeq reads. Approximately 40 million pairs per replicate.
    The methods:
    Code:
    - Trimmed low quality regions/reads using Trimmomatic.
    - Using TopHat2 to map reads to UCSC mm10 reference genome available on the tophat website.
      - --no-novel-juncs and larger --mate-inner-dist arguments
      - Example numbers from one replicate:
        - 92.8% overall mapping rate
        - 30,244,035 aligned pairs; of these:
          - 9.4% have multiple alignments
          - 1.9% are discordant alignments
        - 87.6% concordant pair alignment rate
        - These numbers seem pretty good to me.
    - Sorted the acccepted_hits.bam file by read name using 'samtools sort -n'
    - Converted bam to sam using 'samtools view'
    - Extracting feature read counts using HTSeq-count and the gtf annotation file also from UCSC mm10.
      - Using default arguments (method=union and stranded=yes)
      - Example numbers:
        - successfull feature = 505,622
        - no feature = 29,039,281
        - ambiguous feature = 2525
        - non unique feature = 10,519,556
        - Success rate = 1.26%