Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fastqc Per sequence quality scores - Two peaks?

Hi,

I am struggling to find possible explanations for seeing two distinct peaks in my "per sequence quality scores". I am very new to this, so hope it's not a very silly question. As far as I understand it should not be a major concern, however I would like to understand why this is.

There is also two peaks for GC content in sequences, with very low adapter content at the end of reads.

Sanger/Illumina 1.9 encoding
    The sequence data is from an unknown clinical sample from hospital, for the purpose of identifying possible pathogens.

Kind regards,
    Wilro
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Wilro; 05-20-2017, 03:12 AM. Reason: Added information

I wouldn't worry about the two peaks in the per sequence quality scores although it looks a bit unusual.

Are the reads all the same length if it is Illumina data, or have they already been trimmed by the sequencing center?

The per sequence GC content is more important, and could indicate contamination, but if you are expecting pathogens in the sample, then it could indicate a mixture of human genome and pathogen genomes perhaps.

Comment

Reads are all the same length and have not yet been trimmed. Downstream analysis of the data revealed multiple pathogen blast matches, as well as contigs matching to human reference genomes. So your explanation would make perfect sense.

Thanks for your quick reply

Comment

I was about to post on exactly the same topic - I've got two peaks, one quite sharp in the GC content across all 12 samples in an experiment. As best I can tell from googling is that contamination is a likely cause.