No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Picard's MarkDuplicates -> OutOfMemoryError

Hi folks,

here comes my first question for you. I'm trying to remove duplicates from a big sorted merged BAM-file (~270 GB) with the help of Picard's MarkDuplicate function, but I'm running into OutOfMemoryErrors all the time. I'm kind of new to the real world sequencing industry and would appreciate any help you can give me.

That's the command I'm using:

Code:
    /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6.0-ibm-1.6.0.8.x86_64/jre/bin/java -jar -Xmx40g /illumina/tools/picard-tools-1.45/MarkDuplicates.jar 
    INPUT=BL14_sorted_merged.bam 
    OUTPUT=BL14_sorted_merged_deduped.bam 
    METRICS_FILE=metrics.txt 
    REMOVE_DUPLICATES=true 
    ASSUME_SORTED=true 
    VALIDATION_STRINGENCY=LENIENT 
    TMP_DIR=/illumina/runs/temp/
    The ErrorMessag usually looks like this after running around 8 hours:

Code:
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
    at net.sf.samtools.util.SortingLongCollection.<init>(SortingLongCollection.java:101)
    at net.sf.picard.sam.MarkDuplicates.generateDuplicateIndexes(MarkDuplicates.java:443)
    at net.sf.picard.sam.MarkDuplicates.doWork(MarkDuplicates.java:115)
    at net.sf.picard.cmdline.CommandLineProgram.instanceMain(CommandLineProgram.java:158)
    at net.sf.picard.sam.MarkDuplicates.main(MarkDuplicates.java:97)
    The machine I'm running it on has 48275 MB RAM and 2000 MB Swap.

Please tell me, if you need mor info, if I'm doing something completley wrong or the amount of memory just isn't enough to get a result or whatever. Thanks in advance.

It seems I've finally found a working set of arguments! After more than 14 hours it's still running! Fingers crossed, it keeps doing so and finishs successfully eventually.

Comment

Do you mind posting your working set of arguments? I'm in a very similar situation with this error.

Comment

Originally posted by oiiio View Post