SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Variable per tile sequence quality across amplicon-seq fastqs dross11 Illumina/Solexa 2 06-15-2017 12:58 AM
RIPSeeker "Error in NSBS(i, x, exact = exact, upperBoundIsStrict = !allow.append) : . sbcn Bioinformatics 0 01-31-2017 09:58 AM
Sequence Quality for large number of fastqs bio_informatics Bioinformatics 14 11-12-2015 10:55 AM
Trimming reads messes up PE fastqs? any ideas please? swNGS Bioinformatics 24 07-26-2013 03:02 PM
dwgsim -> readnames and quality scores genome Bioinformatics 1 02-16-2011 07:17 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2019, 08:21 AM   #1
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,358
Default Exact duplicate reads/readnames/quality/tiles in Novaseq FASTQs

Anyone seen this? Some (not correlated with software versions AFAICT) of our MarkDuplicates jobs are failing because there are exact copies of the same reads in the fastq. Identical readnames, locations/tiles, sequence, qualities.

Really weird...
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 08:27 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,992
Default

Sounds like bcl2fastq experienced a software issue. I suggest that you re-run the demultiplexing. I have seen this posted rarely and if I recall had experienced it one time. bcl2fastq re-run fixed the problem.

I will also put a plug in for clumpify.sh from BBMap suite. It allows detection of all/optical dups without alignment of data.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 12:07 PM   #3
ECO
--Site Admin--
 
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,358
Default

We've run it several times to no effect, but are re-running it now with single threaded writing...I'm hopeful that helps....
ECO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 03:25 PM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,992
Default

Interesting. Let us know what happens.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 10:44 AM   #5
saimonara
Junior Member
 
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Default

I'm experiencing this problem as well! Unfortunately, I just notice this error and a third of the ~40 runs we've done have the problem. The runs are not sequential and there were no software updates or changes to the scripts that start the demultiplexing. I'm using bcl2fastq v2.19.1.403.
Once I run bcl2fastq again with the same original settings (`bcl2fastq -r 4 -p 4 -w 4`) , the process doesn't generate duplicated data.
Has anyone found a way to fix this? What's going on?!
saimonara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 02:50 PM   #6
kcchan
Senior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 183
Default

Have you tried upgrading bcl2fastq v2.20? v2.19 was really buggy for NovaSeq data
kcchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 02:53 PM   #7
saimonara
Junior Member
 
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Default

Hi kcchan,

yes, I updated to v2.20 this morning but saw the same behavior later in the day. However, when I reran bcl2fastq I got the correct number of reads. I think it might be something that my pipeline is doing.
saimonara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fastq, markduplicates, novaseq, picard

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO