No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pre- and Post-mRNA fragmentation electropherograms

Hi,

I'm new at sequencing and am using the Roche cDNA rapid library prep for 454 Junior sequencing. I fragmented my mRNA as directed using zinc chloride and ran pre- and post-fragmentation samples on the Bioanalyzer pico chip 600. Just wondering if the fragmentation is complete enough. There are spikes at around 150 and 300 nt but still a broad bump peaking at around 2000 nt. I'm attaching the image file.
    Attached Files

I should have added that the first electropherogram is the unfragmented mRNA and the second electorphergram is the fragmented mRNA

Comment

Seems that fragmentation is not complete. Normally if we see large spikes in small area of the original mRNA, we have them also after fragmentation. But you don't have these spikes in the original mRNA.
      If you have problems with getting more mRNA for new procedure, I'd continue with cDNA preparation, but in the end you will have to get rid off large fragments. I usually use about 50% of AmPure beads to bind only large DNA.

Comment

vlee2, thanks for the suggestion. I went ahead with cDNA prep and in the Rapid Library Prep the next step is purifying with AmpPure beads. Will this step get rid of large fragments or are you speaking of somewhere else in the process? Also, when you say 50% do you mean 50% of total volume of cDNA?

Comment

Mysterious Agilent Trace

It appears in these two agilent traces that the sample got bigger during the fragmentation process if the first one is unfragmented and the second is fragmented.
          One or both lanes of the agilent mis-behaved.
          I believe the other user is recommending a two step SPRI like that which is used in the 454 PE protocol which removes excessively large and excessively small fragments leaving only the mid-range fragments from your orginal library.