No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [Galaxy] Strange QC Nucleotides Distribution Chart

Hi all,

I am new to the forum but excited about the wealth of knowledge available. I am working on a NGS project in Galaxy using data from an Illumina HiSeq 2000. The first part of my workflow uses the Toothbrush FASTQ Groomer to convert the raw, paired end Illumina .fastq files into .fastqsanger. Then, I use the FASTQ Summary Statistics tool and from there use the "Draw nucleotides distribution chart". The resulting chart can be seen here.

Have any of you seen anything like this? My intuition is that the problem lies with the grooming illumina to sanger step, but I am very new to the field. If there is any other information I can provide to help diagnose the problem, please let me know.

Thanks.

Hi,

Please check the raw .fastq files to see what the result is. You may use FastQC, an easy-to-use tool that provides lots of quality-related information.

Douglas

Comment

Hi Douglas,

I took the first 10,000 lines of one of the files and ran it through FastQC. Here is the result.

Comment

From the summary, GC content is 50%, which looks good. I got warnings on per base GC content and per sequence GC content. I never used FastQC in Galaxy but standalone. It should generate plots. Can you check the plots to see what they show exactly.

Douglas

Comment

Here are the plots which are in error:

Edit: The increase in quality over the first 13 bases is apparently an artifact generated by the quality calculation algorithm used by Illumina, which now takes into account the preceding and following 13 bp's.
          Last edited by zippered_ohio; 06-28-2011, 01:26 PM. Reason: add info

Comment

I think your sequencing quality could be a big problem according to FastQC. and you`d better contact your sequencing staffs to explore reasons

BTW, you can see good and bad quality distribution on FastQC web site (http://www.bioinformatics.bbsrc.ac.u...qc_report.html)