SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > 454 Pyrosequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samtools "is recognized as '*'" "truncated file" error axiom7 Bioinformatics 3 11-26-2014 02:53 AM
pileup file symbols "<" and ">" geraldgsw Bioinformatics 3 12-30-2011 08:19 AM
Newbler cannot use a "project lock file"? Adam Witney Bioinformatics 4 09-20-2011 01:41 PM
The position file formats ".clocs" and "_pos.txt"? Ist there any difference? elgor Illumina/Solexa 0 06-27-2011 07:55 AM
"Systems biology and administration" & "Genome generation: no engineering allowed" seb567 Bioinformatics 0 05-25-2010 12:19 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2012, 04:28 PM   #1
all_your_base
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Default "Lock File" aborts Newbler attempts

Hi,

I know there are a couple similar threads pertaining to "project lock file" errors in Newbler, but none have answers, so I'm hoping if I resurrect the question we'll get an answer.


I run Newbler on clusters at a university campus. Until recently, I've been using a small cluster with 8 CPUs and 32GB ram. I ran Newbler without any complications and assembled a de novo transcriptome.

Now, I am changing clusters. My new cluster has 48 cores and 192GB ram. I imported my .fna transcriptome files and attempted to run runMapping (the command line version of gsMapper). On the old cluster the mapping ran fine, but on this new cluster I get the error "Project Lock File" as soon as the program starts. Apparently, runMapping tries to create the output directory and access the transcriptome .fna files, and immediately aborts and all I get in this message.


In another post someone had the same problem and ambiguously reports that he fixed the problem after configuring Newbler to be compatible with large clusters.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can get around this problem? I tried re-importing the transcriptome files, changing their directory, etc.

Thanks!
all_your_base is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 10:06 AM   #2
kopardev
Member
 
Location: VA, USA

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Default

I am having the same problem... Did you find a solution?
kopardev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO