SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bowtie preference for earlier alignments? WHP Bioinformatics 0 04-29-2014 07:00 AM
bowtie- paired end - no alignments madsaan Bioinformatics 1 06-27-2011 01:24 PM
Bowtie: number of alignments Nick Bioinformatics 1 03-04-2011 10:58 AM
Decoding colorspace alignments by Bowtie rlegendre Bioinformatics 0 02-09-2011 05:03 AM
Help with Bowtie, only unique alignments khb General 1 12-16-2010 12:35 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2014, 06:27 PM   #1
sewellh
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Default No Bowtie Alignments

A former lab member assembled a number of contigs from Illumina reads using SPAdes. I have been trying to assess the depth of coverage using Bowtie2 when I noticed something interesting. I find that there are no Bowtie alignments (concordant or discordant) for the largest contig. Can anyone explain this?
sewellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 02:39 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,060
Default

Did you try taking (parts of) the large contig and blasting at NCBI to confirm if the data is from the same/similar species as you expect it to be? Are you mapping the same data back to the contigs?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:30 AM   #3
sewellh
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Default

I am mapping the reads used to make the contigs back on to the contigs. I get alignments for all contigs except for the largest one. I have BLASTED the contig and it is what I expect.
sewellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 10:55 AM   #4
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sewellh View Post
I am mapping the reads used to make the contigs back on to the contigs. I get alignments for all contigs except for the largest one. I have BLASTED the contig and it is what I expect.
Not sure why you are not getting any hits to the largest contig. Have you redone the reference indexing to verify that the contig is included (and there were no errors with the index creation) and/or tried a different aligner?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 11:08 AM   #5
sewellh
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Yes, I redid it. Someone mentioned that SPAdes does error correcting on the reads prior to assembly which might result in differences, so I'm trying today to run the error correction on the raw reads before the Bowtie2 alignment.
sewellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 11:33 AM   #6
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,060
Default

It still seems odd that it is affecting only that contig and nothing is aligning. How are you determining that nothing is aligning (by inspecting the BAM)?
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 11:45 AM   #7
sewellh
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Yeah, by inspecting the SAM file.
sewellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 03:28 PM   #8
Brian Bushnell
Super Moderator
 
Location: Walnut Creek, CA

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,707
Default

1) Have you verified that all of the contigs have unique, correctly-formatted names?
2) Does the contig look normal to you - high complexity, mainly defined bases, rather than e.g. a homopolymer or mostly-N sequence?
3) Is it possible that this contig is a replicate of other contigs? Even though it's bigger, it could be fully covered by other contigs. So, do any other contigs map to it?
4) Is it highly repetitive such that reads aligning to it might exceed the maximum number of allowed alignments?
Brian Bushnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 07:13 PM   #9
sewellh
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Yes, the contigs have uniqe and correctly formatted names. But even when I try to just map the reads to the single large contig, I get no matches.

It doesn't look like this contig is a replicate of others but it does have a 3-4 copies of a ~500 nt fragment within itself. Does that mean that this contig was made incorrectly or that there is something else I should do? I would would expect that if I tried to align the raw reads just to single contig that I would get some alignments.

Update: Using the resulting fastq files from the Hammer error correcting, I still get no Bowtie alignments to that contig
sewellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:08 PM   #10
Brian Bushnell
Super Moderator
 
Location: Walnut Creek, CA

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2,707
Default

Sounds like a bug, but I don't know if it's in the assembler or aligner. I suggest trying a different aligner such as BBMap; and be sure to set the "ambig=all" flag so that reads without a unique best mapping site get mapped to all top-scoring sites.
Brian Bushnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 10:43 PM   #11
sewellh
Member
 
Location: Stanford, CA

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks so much for your help. I'll try out BBMap. If you are curious at all to look at the contigs, they're on JGI. The largest is:
>gi|589096183|gb|JARN01000011.1| Dehalococcoidia bacterium DscP2 WGS:JARN01:comHGAPfinal_Contig11_1.11, whole genome shotgun sequence
sewellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO