SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
454 reads correct with illumina biocomfun 454 Pyrosequencing 6 02-12-2012 03:00 AM
Correct input file format for SLOPE? Heisman Bioinformatics 2 09-21-2011 06:20 AM
Correct kit for qPCR on Illumina preps? Heisman Sample Prep / Library Generation 2 06-08-2011 07:34 AM
Mapping SOliD reads to a Newbler 454 alignment to correct errors Bukowski Bioinformatics 0 03-09-2010 02:20 AM
Manually correct heterozygous indels captainobvious Bioinformatics 2 03-03-2009 10:07 AM

Old 01-15-2012, 10:44 PM   #1
mitochy

Default How to find out if mapping is correct/not

Hi all.
I'm really new to sequencing.
I'm trying to map single end RNA-seq reads (short) to reference genome using (any) short read aligner. My question is, how do I find out if the program is mapping correctly using my data?
- input is some million reads of Ecoli K12 illumina RNA-seq data, 35bp in length
- ref is Ecoli K12 ~4.8MBp
- e.g. I use BWA 0.50 with bwtsw and it generated a sam file with position of each reads.

How do I know how correct the result in the SAM file is (statistically)? Or is there no way to find out and we have to trust result of correctness/ROC based on mapping known/simulated data (like this one?)
mitochy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 04:53 AM   #2
dpryan
Devon Ryan

Have a look at the MAPQ field (5th column) of the SAM or BAM output file. I don't know how bwa calculates that (particularly of transcripts rather than simpler DNA reads), so you may want to browse the source code if you really need to know the nitty-gritty.
dpryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:47 PM   #3
mitochy

That is true. The thing is the 5th column is gotten from bwa's own calculation, and maq/bowtie might have different result from their own calculation. So I guess we can only trust ROC comparison based on simulation data.
mitochy is offline   Reply With Quote