SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiplex few variants in hundreds of samples fadista Bioinformatics 2 12-02-2011 12:10 AM
Doing multiplex in one lane only mcrepeau Illumina/Solexa 27 11-18-2011 09:11 AM
Tags in Multiplex suludana Illumina/Solexa 2 12-01-2009 05:59 AM
Multiplex suludana Illumina/Solexa 0 01-13-2009 02:30 AM
Error-correcting barcoded primers for pyrosequencing hundreds of samples in multiplex ECO Literature Watch 0 02-12-2008 10:30 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2011, 10:40 AM   #1
cybeline
Member
 
Location: CA

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Default Multiplex more than 12 samples?

Hello,

I was wondering if it was possible to multiplex more than 12 samples per lane?
It seems most people only multiplex 12 and if it is possible to do more what are the cons?

Thank you,
cybeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:43 AM   #2
DMO
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
Default

You can index many more than 12. We have designed primers for 96 indexes and have been using them for the last 6 months or so with very good results (nice even representation across all 96). For many projects indexing 96 samples in a lane may not be suitable because you may need more coverage than that. But, with the ever increasing popularity of targeted capture of small regions and as the # of reads/lane doubles or triples over the next year (Illumina is getting 1.14TB/2x150bp run on a HiSeq2000(2flowcells)) , indexing many more than 96 will soon become very popular.
DMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 02:00 PM   #3
cybeline
Member
 
Location: CA

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Thank you very much for your answer.

Could you please expand a little on the coverage issue with multiplexing 96 samples or more than 12 in general? What type of results would you expect per sample? how many sequences read are you able to get?

Thanks again,
cybeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:56 PM   #4
DMO
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Well, you still get the same average number of reads per lane, just divvied up among the respective samples in the lane. So you just need to figure out how many reads you need for each sample and pool it in at whatever % of a lane you need for that sample.
DMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:33 AM   #5
cybeline
Member
 
Location: CA

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Makes sense, thank you again!
cybeline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO