No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Qs in exome sequencing data analysis

Hello everyone,

I am Maone, just start my project in exome sequencing + filter analysis to investigate causitive gene for a rare genetic disorder. I have no background in Linux.

So now we have got our exome sequencing result back and we would like to narrow the variants down by filters like: exclude common varients in dpSNP, only express in muscle...etc. Could anyone give me some advices on what should I do, like:
    1. Is there any software windows-based but not Linux or Linux is a must-have if I want to continue my project?
    2. If solely for this project, what is the extent of Linux I have to learn? Could anyone recall some good books or website to start with?
    3. Where can I access these database such as muscular genes, dpSNP, fibroblast genes?

Thank you.

Maone
    Last edited by Maone; 06-15-2011, 11:00 AM.

Quite a lot of questions at once. If you've got a Linux computer in reach try to get some basic command line knowledge (google is your friend)

If you've got your SNPs in anyone of these formats: MAQ, GFF, VCF or CASAVA you could use the SeattleSeq SNP annotation tool (http://gvs.gs.washington.edu/SeattleSeqAnnotation/). That gives you annotations like dbSNP, conservation, HAPMAP frequencies, genes and a lot more. The result is stored as csv file (as far as I remember right) and you can download it and filter the SNPs using Excel.

As the gene names are stored as well you could search for muscle-associated genes in the literature and screen the result for that gene...

I think thats the most easy way of doing it without looking too deeply into Linux (which I actually would recommend anyone dealing with NGS data as long as they got time to do that)

Comment

Originally posted by ulz_peter View Post
      Quite a lot of questions at once. If you've got a Linux computer in reach try to get some basic command line knowledge (google is your friend)