SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > RNA Sequencing



Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2019, 02:00 AM   #1
Aishah
Junior Member
 
Location: Mauritius

Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Default RNA-seq data QC

Regarding trimming of raw RNA-seq datasets, do we need to trim off primer sequences despite FASTQC not indicating these as overrepresented?
Aishah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 04:17 AM   #2
GenoMax
Senior Member
 
Location: East Coast USA

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,992
Default

I assume you are referring to adapter sequences. Strictly speaking you don't need to since most modern aligners will soft clip them.

That said, it can be a good practice to scan and trim your data so you can be sure that there is no extraneous sequence present.
GenoMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO