Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which System to use? PC vs Mac

I'm crossing the threshold of NGS from total newbie to bona-fide intermediate. I've been using Galaxy and am beginning to reach the point where I need to write my own code and to use the available codes to do some of the more difficult computation. I realize that having a windows machine is useless. So, my question is, should I get a new PC and install a Linux based OS..or should I get a MAC running OSX?
    If you say Linux, any advice on which version is best for a newbie; and where is the best place to order a PC w/ multiple processors?

Basically, any information for setting up a nice computer to do NGS analysis is very much appreciated.
    Thanks, Keith.

Originally posted by Giles View Post
    I'm crossing the threshold of NGS from total newbie to bona-fide intermediate. I've been using Galaxy and am beginning to reach the point where I need to write my own code and to use the available codes to do some of the more difficult computation. I realize that having a windows machine is useless. So, my question is, should I get a new PC and install a Linux based OS..or should I get a MAC running OSX?
    If you say Linux, any advice on which version is best for a newbie; and where is the best place to order a PC w/ multiple processors?

Basically, any information for setting up a nice computer to do NGS analysis is very much appreciated.
    Thanks, Keith.
    I suppose ubuntu may be the best choice for you. for its operation is much easier, and workstation is preferred. you can search deals through google, good luck

Comment

I'd say whatever makes you most comfortable. I'm fond of OS X as a desktop machine because I can also use MS office & Adobe illustrator and such. The Mac Pros that you'd want to do serious analysis are pretty overpriced, unfortunately.