Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with sorting sam files in python!

Hello All!

I am new to coding. I have written a python script to analyze a bunch of fastq files from RNASeq analysis. I am using the subprocess module to call bowtie2 in order to index the genome and align the unpaired short reads to the genome.My script generates a sam file which needs to be sorted before running the cuffdiff module. The linux sort command works perfectly on my mac, however, in spite of installing the Unxupdates on my windows at work, I am unable to make my script work. I am hoping for some help/advice here to sort my sam file in python. Here is the script I tried.

#!/usr/bin/env python2.7

import os, sys

inputFile = open(‘Outputfile1.txt’, 'r')

lineList = inputFile.readlines()

for line in sorted(lineList):

print(line.rstrip());

With this script, the stdout is written to the screen. But this recognizes only the text file. Sam files are not recognized.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
    -M

No, that's really not how you should sort a sam file. You should either have a look at samtools sort or pysam (python module).

I don't think doing this in plain python is a good idea, there are better alternatives such as bash loops, gnu-parallel, snakemake.

Comment

Hi wdecoster,

Thanks for your response. Samtools sort function does not work on the windows terminal with either sam or bam files. But the samtools view function converts sam to bam format successfully. Also, the latest version of pysam for windows is not running on my machine. I will try snakemake.

Thanks again,
      -M

Comment

Originally posted by mavadhani View Post
        Samtools sort function does not work on the windows terminal with either sam or bam files.
        Is that reference to "ubuntu bash on windows 10" or something else?

Comment