No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RNA-Seq for transposon insertion analysis

Hello all,
    I am a new student to bioinformatics and CLC genomics so would be grateful for any help given as I'm feeling slightly lost.

I have been given illumina data (fastq files) consisting of the genome sequences to a bacterial genome, initially to perform single- end RNA-Seq analysis and differential expression analysis.
    My main focus is to find: The number of mutants.
    The number of transposon insertions in total.
    The number of transposon insertions per gene.

I have three conditions: Starting, first output and second output i.e. 3 groups.
    I have replicate sequencing data for the first output and second output data however I only have one set of data for the starting.

Using CLC genomics, I have been able to trim my sequences, map them to an annotated genome and perform RNA-Seq analysis.
    (An example to aid simplicity of my explanation. My experiment contains 1 starting library, 3 first output replicates and 3 second output replicates).
    To start my comparison, I did a box plot of the three groups. This revealed that the individual samples all have a similar distributions, especially with respect to their own group although, the locations of the distributions differed. Because of this, I normalized my samples by quantile normalization which indeed made the samples comparable exemplified by a box plot showing each sample as having an equal distribution. Was this the right thing to do? Should I have chosen a different normalization method?

Next, I performed a statistical test on the proportions of the two groups using the starting library as the reference. I performed an unpaired Baggerley test of the three groups and chose the RPKM as the expression value to be used in the test.
    (see manual here http://www.clcsupport.com/clcgenomic...oportions.html )

Now what I am unsure of the following things: