SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GATK: sorting vcf file given a reference file jorge Bioinformatics 4 01-14-2015 12:16 PM
Problem with vcf file generated amruta.bn Bioinformatics 0 01-05-2012 03:22 AM
GATK: VCF file for Local realignment around indels jorge Bioinformatics 2 10-10-2011 11:15 PM
Converting Dindel VCF file to GATK BED file MolecularToast Bioinformatics 2 09-24-2011 06:38 PM
BAMseek large file viewer - now with VCF and FASTQ support BAMseek Bioinformatics 1 07-25-2011 06:57 PM

Old 03-02-2012, 10:33 AM   #1
slowsmile

Default extremely large vcf file generated by GATK

Dear All
I am new to snp analysis and am recently working on GATK pipeline to identify snps on the whole genome data.

I went through the stage I raw data processing protocol recommended by GATK pipeline and generated an aligned, duplicate marked, and recalibrated BAM file for one of my samples.

I tried to run the Unified genotyper with the following code (for both snps and indels)

Quote:
java -Xmx4g -jar GenomeAnalysisTK.jar \
-l INFO \
-R /media/edrive/RNAseq/ucsc.hg19.fasta \
-T UnifiedGenotyper \
-I /media/edrive/RNAseq/LID46437/bwa/reads.recal.bam \
-o /media/edrive/RNAseq/LID46437/bwa/output.vcf \
--genotype_likelihoods_model BOTH \
--output_mode EMIT_ALL_CONFIDENT_SITES

exit
The code has been running for more than 20 hours yet has not completed. The in put bam file (reads.recal.bam) is only 11GB but as I checked the size of output vcf file, it already reached 60GB.

I just want to ask whether this is normal to take such a long time to run Unified genotyper and generates an excessively large vcf file?

Can anyone with experiences tell me: what is the size of your output vcf file when you work on the whole human genome? And how long does it take to run Unified genotyper usually?

Thanks a lot
slowsmile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:45 AM   #2
shawpa