SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BLAST+ creating custom blast database and using blast+ filtering features deniz Bioinformatics 3 07-07-2019 08:04 AM
How do you download a FASTA sequence from NCBI Nucleotide onto a remote server? ehlin Bioinformatics 5 12-10-2018 10:34 AM
Stand Alone Blast Exclude without -remote tboothby Bioinformatics 1 02-04-2012 04:03 AM
BLAST database error - when changing to new BLAST+ local program biobio Bioinformatics 4 06-15-2011 05:20 AM
BLASTing or Convert FASTQ: any user-interface programmes out there? Need help! A1_UltiMA Bioinformatics 6 09-17-2010 08:16 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2012, 08:54 AM   #1
rangel
Junior Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Exclamation using blast+ for remote blasting

Hi I'm trying to run a remote blastn search from linux command line.
Here's my working syntax for doing this with blastcl3, which is now deprecated:

blastcl3 -p blastn -i seqs.fasta -p blastn -d nr -o blast.out -T -K 1

I'm trying to translate this to the new blast+ syntax.
This is what I thought should work:

blastn -task blastn -remote -db nr -query suspected.seqs.fasta -evalue 0.00001 -dust no -max_target_seqs 1 -html -out output.blastn.html

but what happens is that the computer hangs for about 20 min and then spews the following error about 100 times:

Error: Error: internal_error: (Severe Error) Blast search error: Details: search failed. # Informational Message: [blastsrv4.REAL]: Error: CPU usage limit was exceeded, resulting in SIGXCPU (24).

any suggestions?

Thanks
Roey
rangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 10:02 AM   #2
maubp
Peter (Biopython etc)
 
Location: Dundee, Scotland, UK

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,541
Default

How many query sequences do you have? If lots, that explains the NCBI CPU limit. You might be better off running it locally.
maubp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
rangel
Junior Member
 
Location: Germany

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

The query file contains about a 100 sequences, which doesn't sound a lot to me.
the old blastcl3 doesn't seem to have any problem with that.
In any case I tried running blastn with 1 sequence and I get the right restult, but if the new function isn't working as well as the old one why are the people at NCBI deprecating it?!

Is my syntax wrong maybe? is there a way to optimise it?

thanks again
Roey
rangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blast, blast+, command line

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO