SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tophat2 errors ahmetz Bioinformatics 25 09-04-2013 07:24 AM
RNA-Seq: Comparative Analysis of RNA-Seq Alignment Algorithms and the RNA-Seq Unified Newsbot! Literature Watch 3 07-31-2011 08:08 PM
RNA-Seq: A multiplex RNA-seq strategy to profile poly(A(+)) RNA: Application to analy Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 04-26-2011 05:00 AM
RNA-Seq: ExpEdit: a web server to explore human RNA editing in RNA-Seq experiments. Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 03-24-2011 03:10 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2012, 12:31 AM   #1
LiamT
Junior Member
 
Location: South Africa

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default RNA-seq Tophat2 errors

Hi everyone

I'm rather new to this field, so am trying my best and have spent the better part of a day trying to get Tophat2 to work with RNA-seq data and the hg19 reference. I can smell that I'm close, but I just don't or can't see what is wrong with the way I'm running the program. I have installed everything as per instructions, the programs are all in the path, the indexes installed, and so I start with the following:

Code:
tophat2 -p 4 -o hivA --library-type fr-firststrand --keep-tmp --b2-very-sensitive $HOME/programs/bowtie2/hg19 $HOME/lincrna/fastq/A_1.fastq, $HOME/lincrna/fastq/A_2.fastq
which gives


[2012-05-09 09:20:23] Beginning TopHat run (v2.0.0)
-----------------------------------------------
[2012-05-09 09:20:23] Checking for Bowtie
Bowtie version: 2.0.0.5
[2012-05-09 09:20:23] Checking for Samtools
Samtools version: 0.1.18.0
[2012-05-09 09:20:23] Checking for Bowtie index files
[2012-05-09 09:20:23] Checking for reference FASTA file
[2012-05-09 09:20:23] Generating SAM header for /home/thompsonl/programs/bowtie2/hg19
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/home/thompsonl/programs/tophat2/tophat", line 3778, in ?
sys.exit(main())
File "/home/thompsonl/programs/tophat2/tophat", line 3645, in main
params.read_params = check_reads_format(params, reads_list)
File "/home/thompsonl/programs/tophat2/tophat", line 1676, in check_reads_format
zf = ZReader(f_name, params.system_params)
File "/home/thompsonl/programs/tophat2/tophat", line 1629, in __init__
self.file=open(filename)
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: ''

Now obviously, it can't find something, but what exactly can't it find ? I've checked the logs in the output directory but that doesn't yield any additional info. I've also tried a precompiled and source version of tophat2, but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

Any suggestions for my myopia ?

Thanks
Liam
LiamT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:19 AM   #2
rnaseek
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

The error is complaining that it could not open the sequence file. I think you don't need that comma after the first fastq file.
" $HOME/lincrna/fastq/A_1.fastq,"

Last edited by rnaseek; 05-09-2012 at 01:34 AM.
rnaseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:31 AM   #3
LiamT
Junior Member
 
Location: South Africa

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Sigh..this seems to work now, thanks for clearing that up . Just a further question though, as the A_1.fastq and A_2.fastq are sequencing replicates should they instead be named A1_1.fastq A2_1.fastq ? Keeping in mind that this is single end RNA-seq not paired end.
LiamT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:38 AM   #4
rnaseek
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

I thought it was a Paired End run. Since it is not a paired end you might want to rename the files and try running with the comma.
rnaseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:00 AM   #5
LiamT
Junior Member
 
Location: South Africa

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

The system dislikes any combination of commas that I try, I'll try without a comma, use "--library-type fr-firststrand" in the command line and see if it worked afterwords. Thanks for the suggestions.
LiamT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 02:35 AM   #6
rnaseek
Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Since they are replicates (tech. reps?), you can run independently, compare and decide to merge the bam files later if needed.
rnaseek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error message, rna-seq, tophat2

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO