No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this segemehl error due to memory?

Hi I am fairly new to RNA-seq.
    I am trying to analyze my data using segemehl but am running into following error. (I've cut and pasted the last part of the output.)
    [SEGEMEHL] Fri Jul 24 19:16:53 2015: 1637977 reads in thread 0.
    [SEGEMEHL] Fri Jul 24 19:16:53 2015: 1637824 reads in thread 1.
    [SEGEMEHL] Fri Jul 24 19:16:53 2015: 1637824 reads in thread 2.
    [SEGEMEHL] Fri Jul 24 19:16:53 2015: 1637824 reads in thread 3.
    segemehl.x: libs/biofiles.c:1160: bl_fastxAddMate: Assertion `bl_fastaCheckMateID(f, n, descr, descrlen)' failed.

My job commend is
    segemehl.x --silent -i hg19.idx -d human_hg19.fa -q READ1 -p READ2 -O -o sege.sam -u unmap.sam -D 1 -t 4

One of my question was if I submit the job by chromosome to reduce the memory load how can segemehl map reads that align to different chromosomes?

I read in some posting I should use the full reference file for but this will lead to significant increase in mapping time and memory requirement.
    How do I find the right balance?

Thank you in advance

There is no "right balance". You need to map to the full reference if you want correct results.

I can't advise you on that error message, but your command certainly looks strange. Is that the actual command, or are you substituting "READ1" and "READ2" for the filenames?
    Last edited by Brian Bushnell; 07-27-2015, 09:30 AM.

Comment

If this error occurs, segemehl cannot assign mate2 to mate1. Are the reads in both your files in correct order? Do they have matching read ids (at least the beginning of the id)? Do you have the same number of reads in the mate1 file and the mate2 file?

If you did adapter clipping and/or quality trimming, assure that you do it for both files together and not separated in two calls. You can use bbduk to trim paired-end reads without loosing the mate1-mate2-connection.