SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > General

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PubMed: 'Next-generation' sequencing becomes 'now-generation'. Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 01-22-2012 02:23 AM
PubMed: Sequencing of BAC pools by different next generation sequencing platforms and Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 10-18-2011 10:10 AM
about next generation sequencing shailesh Introductions 7 12-27-2009 10:03 PM
PubMed: Whole genome assembly from 454 sequencing output via modified DNA graph conce Newsbot! Literature Watch 0 05-30-2009 05:07 AM
Evaluation of next generation sequencing platforms for population targeted sequencing div1982 Literature Watch 0 04-23-2009 06:39 AM

Old 01-29-2012, 04:26 PM   #1
martin_313

Default Apllications of Graph Theory in Next Generation Sequencing

Hello everyone,

I'm a math student interested in graph theory and its applications in biology. Sadly, biomathmeatics and bioinformatics in general are somewhat neglected at my university.

During my next semester, I'll have 2-3 months to write a paper on a topic of my choosing and I've thought about doing something relaxted to Next Generation Sequencing.
I'm currently doing an out-of-university-internship where I have to work with some Next Generation Assembly programs, so I've heard of De Bruijn Graphs and their role in assembly. However, I am not sure whether this topic by itself would be complex enough to devote my whole paper to it, so I'm currently looking for further ideas for a possible topic.
Can anyone point me to other areas of Next Generation Sequencing / genetics / bioinformatics where graph theory is applied?

Thank you for your answers
Martin
martin_313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 08:46 AM   #2
steven

Recently a nice review was suggested to learn about genome assembly using De Bruijn graphs. You may want to look at transcriptome assembly too. I would say that there is quite a lot to read and write on graphs for NGS.