Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ideas on Bioanalyzer trace for ChIP-seq library?

Greetings everyone! I have very much enjoyed following this forum for the last few months. I am a graduate student who is making a foray into ChIP-seq. I have a question for the more experienced people out there whether they think that the ChIP-seq library I have generated is suitable for sequencing (Bioanalyzer trace below). We have an experienced next-gen sequencing facility in the institute where I work, however they have not worked up ChIP-seq before...

Briefly:
    - ChIP with Histone PTM antibody
    - Samples generated from 4x106 cells per IP, digestion to mainly mono-nucleosome with MNase prior to IP.
    - ChIP verified by positive control regions in PCR prior to library generation
    - Library generated using NEB-NEXT ChIP seq master mix kit for Illumina. NEB NExt adapters and multiplexed oligos used. (Adapter are loop).
    - Samples are to be sequenced on the Hi-Seq using barcoded primers (aiming for 20x106 reads per sample).

I did a trial libray preparation with an Input sample and a ChIP sample. I was unable to quantify the DNA, so I used 37 uL of a 50uL elution of ChIP, keeping the remainder for PCR verification. I used 25uL of a 2% Input sample (which was too dilute for quantification on NanoDrop).

For the library preparation, size selection was performed post adapter ligation using a 2% agarose gel (with EtBr). I didn't clean up with the MinElute kit after adapter ligation to avoid carry through of adapter junk. All other purification steps were with Qiagen columns. I excised the region around 200bp from a gel pre PCR amplification. Realistically, I think I took about 175 to 220-230 bp.