No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• miRNA analysis..

Hello,

I am relatively new to NGS analysis, and have recently been put on a project analyzing samples that have been sequenced by Illumina-Solexa's small RNA protocol.

I have reviewed this forum and found much advice on various tools/pipelines including miRtools, miRanalyzer, miRexpress, miRdeep, etc. I just wanted to get some feedback/advice on the type of results I am getting using these various public domain pipelines.

1. Using the s_*_sequence.txt output from the sequencer pipeline, I have about 22 million reads per sample, which after removing redundancy, trimming the adapter sequences, and removing reads where the adapter sequence shows up at the beginning or middle, I paired down to ~300,000 unique reads +/- 25,000 depending on the sample.

Is this typical?

2. When analyzing the length distributions of my unique reads, I am seeing a clear peak around 20-21 nucleotides,but i am seeing some minor peaks around 29 and 32 nucleotides. When analyzing the length distributions of the total read counts, I am seeing a peak at 29 nucleotides. Please see attached plots.

What could this possibly mean? Shouldn't I be seeing peaks around 20-21 nucleotide only? Has anyone seen this type of data before? The idea of these sequences being fragments of mRNA, piRNA, snoRNA, tRNA, etc. has been suggested.

3. I aligned my unique reads to the human genome using BowTie. I am getting approximately 45-60% of the unique reads aligning to the genome, while the rest of the reads do not align. I have used the command:

./bowtie -n 1 -l 17 -k 200 --best --chunkmbs 128

So what does this mean for the remaining sequences that are not aligning? Why would there be so much unaligned sequences in my data?

-----------------------

Thank you all for any insight you can provide me with. SEQAnswers has been very helpful for me thus far in getting introduced to NGS data analysis!
    Attached Files