SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
picard error: Mismatch between read length and quals length writing read shawpa Bioinformatics 0 08-20-2012 05:52 AM
Problem with BWA mapping second read pbluescript Bioinformatics 3 10-12-2011 07:52 AM
Mapping Short Reads with unequal length using MAQ TOLEN Illumina/Solexa 0 12-30-2010 07:57 PM
Seed length in Maq sam253 Bioinformatics 0 04-27-2010 09:17 PM
MAQ and short read length (DGE) jms1223 Illumina/Solexa 5 02-23-2009 07:07 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2012, 10:28 PM   #1
koustavpal
Member
 
Location: Asia

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Default read length a problem when mapping with MAQ

Hi,

I have a file containing 36.8 million reads, as suggested in the MAQ manual I divided the file so that i had files containing 2 million reads. the minimum length of any read is 49bp, and the maximum i cannot approximate because whenever i input the files, if one file has reads with length greater than 65bp then maq returns a "no reasonable reads found" error.

I used the dynamic trim script to trim down the sequences according to their quality scores, which shortened the reads which before were 65bp long to 49-55bp long. These reads when inputted were promptly accepted and yet again when i input files containing sequences with length more than 65bp after trimming these files were rejected with the no reasonable reads found error.

This leads me to believe that maq may have an maximum read length cap of 60bp?

It would be helpful if someone can shed some more light on the matter.
koustavpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:32 PM   #2
swbarnes2
Senior Member
 
Location: San Diego

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 912
Default

MAQ is really old. No one uses it anymore, it's not a fast algorithm. Switch to a Burrows-Wheeler Transform algorithm, like bwa or Bowtie.
swbarnes2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:44 PM   #3
koustavpal
Member
 
Location: Asia

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Default

I have used bowtie2 to achieve the same, but our lab head is persistent on doing the same with maq. Therefore, i must use maq.
koustavpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:05 AM   #4
HESmith
Senior Member
 
Location: Bethesda MD

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 506
Default

The MAQ FAQ states that the maximum read length is 63bp. Also, it will only align reads of the same length (although you can merge different read lengths post-alignment).
HESmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maq, maq alignment, maq problem, read length

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO