SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Applications Forums > Sample Prep / Library Generation

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lexogen has launched 3'mRNA-Seq library prep kit for Ion Torrent lexogen Vendor Forum 0 09-10-2014 07:36 AM
Ion Torrent RNA library prep miRman RNA Sequencing 2 04-30-2014 11:25 AM
Library prep kits for Ion PGM or Ion Proton Bioo Scientific Vendor Forum 0 02-18-2013 06:25 AM
microrna and small rna library prep for ion Torrent v. miseq Afazja Sample Prep / Library Generation 0 11-29-2012 12:11 AM
Ion Torrent Library Prep fully automated on SPRIworks SPRI-TE system Ber7702 Vendor Forum 5 03-19-2012 05:46 AM

Old 10-28-2014, 02:49 PM   #1
jachase@ucdavis.edu

Red face Ion torrent library prep for MiSeq

Hello, I'm very new to the NGS community and was hoping to get help. Is it possible to create a DNA library using Ions 16s metagenomics kit then performing the sequencing on a MiSeq.

I am interested in the extra coverage of the 16s unit that the Ion systems promises but only have access to a MiSeq platform.

I would happily take other universal primer suggestions that can cover a broader ranges of the 16s unit that I can add barcodes and adapters to using the Nextra protocol.

Please help!
jachase@ucdavis.edu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 01:18 AM   #2
nucacidhunter
Jafar Jabbari

To my knowledge Ion read length is 400bp. With MiSeq you can get 2x300 paired end reads and with HiSeq V2 Rapid Chemistry 2x250. Illumin has validated a protocol: http://supportres.illumina.com/docum...15044223-b.pdf
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 07:47 AM   #3
jachase@ucdavis.edu

Question