SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > General



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modify cummeRbund plots in R studio: color, error bar width cbaudo Bioinformatics 0 02-24-2016 11:18 AM
Compare RNA-seq and qPCR results using bar plots with error bars aggp11 RNA Sequencing 1 10-11-2013 01:50 PM
Converting BED format to bar gwbyeon Bioinformatics 1 08-31-2010 11:31 PM
Error Bar in 454's Flowgram foolishbrat 454 Pyrosequencing 0 08-10-2009 01:49 AM
Help with 454 bar coded samples FLXTech 454 Pyrosequencing 2 05-16-2008 01:30 AM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2016, 12:13 AM   #1
azim58
Junior Member
 
Location: Tempe AZ

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Default automatically place sample size label above the error bar for each bar?

Is there some software that will allow me to create a bar graph which automatically places the sample size label above the error bar for each bar? I work in a biology lab, and I have to make a lot of bar graphs which would be suitable for a scientific journal publication. I usually make these graphs in Excel. However, I have to manually create text boxes to put the sample size above the error bar of each bar, and this can be time consuming. Ideally, I would also like the created graph to be editable in powerpoint. The sample size labels may need to be adjusted as well as the x and y axis labels.
azim58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:03 AM   #2
Michael.Ante
Senior Member
 
Location: Vienna

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 123
Default

Hi Azim58,

AFAIK, it is quite hard combining MS-Office-based and still editable graphs with the requirements for publications. If you have a bit of time, I'd recommend to learn the R language. There are a lot of galleries online which show you how to draw certain graphs. Moreover, you can export the R graphs into many formats and different resolutions. Thus, you'll meet the requirements fro publication (e.g. a eps file with 600 dpi).

For your problem you can have a look here.

Cheers,
Michael
Michael.Ante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2016, 11:23 AM   #3
azim58
Junior Member
 
Location: Tempe AZ

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the reply Michael.Ante. The graph in that gallery gets me closer to what I am looking for. However, that graph does not have error bars or significance bars.
azim58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 12:01 AM   #4
Michael.Ante
Senior Member
 
Location: Vienna

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 123
Default

For adding error bars (there is a bit more coding involved) you can use the arrow function in R.
There are a couple of blogs how to do that. For example, have a look at Monkey's Uncle from Stanford.
Michael.Ante is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automatic, graph, sample size, software

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO