No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tophat does not find any junction

Dear all,

I am very new to the NGS world and my question might seem stupid.

In order to train using RNA-seq data, I downloaded the datasets coming from the paper by Marioni et al (2008) (see http://genome.cshlp.org/content/18/9/1509.full) where they compare the respective merits of affymetrix microarrays vs RNA sequencing.

I decided to apply tophat on this tool in order to do the mapping.

This dataset is composed of 2 sets of short reads of size 36 nucleotides (2 lanes for the sequecing of the kidney transcriptome as well as 2 lanes for the liver).

I used these commands :for the kidney and the liver respectively :

Code:
    tophat --segment-length 12 -p 11 -o kidney_out $BOWTIE_INDEXES/complete_hg19_reference /data/datasylvain/marioni/kidney_2runs_1.fastq,/data/datasylvain/marioni/kidney_2runs_2.fastq

tophat -p 11 --segment-length 12 -o liver_out $BOWTIE_INDEXES/complete_hg19_reference /data/datasylvain/marioni/liver_2runs_1.fastq,/data/datasylvain/marioni/liver_2runs_2.fastq
    The problem is that I never get any junction found and I don't understand why.
    E.g. : this is the content of the file log/reports.log

Code:
    tophat_reports v1.3.2 (2689)
    ---------------------------------------
    [samopen] SAM header is present: 93 sequences.
    Loaded 0 junctions
    Reporting final accepted alignments...done.
    Printing junction BED track...done
    Printing insertions...done
    Printing deletions...done
    Found 0 junctions from happy spliced reads
    Any idea? Thanks a lot to all of you!

Sylvain

Hi - I had quite the same problem that tophat 1.3.0 could not find any junctions, but the old version (1.2.0) can find. Have you tried 1.2.0?

Comment

No, I haven't... Thanks for the hint! I'll give a try.
      Last edited by sbrohee; 09-30-2011, 07:20 AM. Reason: mispelling

Comment