No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with uneven distribution of rads among individual libraries

Hello everyone!
    I am totally new in NGS, so I apologize for the basic question.

I am doing ddRAD (EcoRI and SphI) for SNP analysis in a fish species with genome size ~900 Mb.

I got my raw data from the MiSeq and found out that the distribution of reads varies a lot among individuals (each individual is identified with a barcode) (the image attached shows total number of reads -2nd column- for each barcode -first column- after running "process_radtags" in STACKS, used sliding window 0.1 and minimum quality score 20). Some libraries got 11M reads whereas others got ~8000, no good.

I wonder, what else, other than an incorrect normalization of the DNA concentration when I started the protocol, may explain this outcome? Maybe the barcodes I used were not diverse enough among samples within the same sequencing run? A side note, I used 5% PhiX. For DNA quantification I used Quanti-PicoGreen

Thanks in advance for any advice!
    Attached Files
    Last edited by apfuentes; 06-11-2014, 12:04 PM. Reason: typo in the title

The usual suspects are incorrect DNA quantification, and DNA quality. A lot of sheared DNA will convert into less of a library than a smaller amount of good DNA. Pico-green quantification should be reliable. Some species have PCR or restriction enzyme inhibitors that may come through genome extraction in variable ways. Any funny colors in the extracted DNA?

Is there a file of reads unassigned to a barcode? If you do have complexity issues, you might get Ns in the index. But you aren't going to get 10M reads for each sample on one MiSeq run, so that probably isn't the issue.

Did you amplify, pool and size select? Did you run out the samples on a gel before making libraries and post-amplification?
    Providing nextRAD genotyping and PacBio sequencing services. http://snpsaurus.com

Comment