Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Computer Scientist diving into bioinformatics... where to start?

I'm a professor of Computer Science looking to learn the basics of sequencing technology. In particular, I'm interested in understanding the various file formats.

The C.S. stuff is straightforward for me, but the bio stuff is rather... challenging: I have a high-school level of understanding of biology, which only gets me so far. For example, I know what a nucleotide is, I understand the basic idea of how codons produce proteins, and I know roughly how DNA differs from RNA. But this newer terminology around sequencing technology is hard to learn because there doesn't seem to be a good set of references. For example, I searched for a while trying to learn what a CIGAR string is, only to get tons of smoking and Freud references. The lexicon you folks use is unfortunately borrowed from mainstream English and therefore hard to google ("lane", "read", "run").

My question: is there a good reference, free or not, that quickly takes one through the lexicon required to absorb file-format descriptions? I have already read Larry Hunter's excellent "The Processes of Life" but it doesn't spend much time specifically on sequencing.

Check out Kimball's biology for a good tutorial on the science.

Youtube is also great, it's fun to have a visualization of the problem at hand.

The basic situation is this: we now have reference genomes for many organisms, including mouse and human. These were brand new as of about 10 years ago. Since then, scientists have hunkered down over them trying to make sense of them. We speak of the RNA and DNA and their products in the cell in terms of various "omics" : genome, transcriptome, exome, proteome, etc. It was once hard to get measurements of these, but now it's easy and the data IS HUGE. It's a tsunami.