SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > Illumina/Solexa



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nextera DNA library - low yield? sweetph3 Sample Prep / Library Generation 9 03-23-2014 04:03 AM
Low library yield Seqwork RNA Sequencing 2 03-06-2014 11:57 AM
Sequence and quality are inconsistent myronpeto Bioinformatics 9 10-29-2013 03:06 PM
Library yield problem FiReaNG3L Sample Prep / Library Generation 10 07-06-2013 09:42 PM
Inconsistent results of cuffcompare, looking for help weibominingdata Bioinformatics 2 11-09-2011 09:47 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2014, 01:39 AM   #1
BigAlPal
Junior Member
 
Location: Southeast U.S.

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Default Inconsistent Yield With Nextera XT

Hey all,

I've been using the Nextera XT kit without bead normalization and have been getting inconsistent yields after the PCR step. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to it. Right now, I'm trying to get some decent libraries with plasmids. Did 5 preps and only two of them were above 2nM. I've had the same issue with bacterial genomes and commercially prepared human genome. We've had limited success increasing input to 6ng and using 90ul Ampure beads but that too is inconsistent.

Has anybody had the same problem and if so, what have you done to fix it? I've been advised by another lab to switch to the regular Nextera kit but money is an issue with our lab. If we can make the cheaper Nextera XT kit work consistently, it would be better. Any advice would be appreciated!

BigAlPal
BigAlPal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 02:38 AM   #2
nucacidhunter
Jafar Jabbari
 
Location: Melbourne

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,238
Default

In my experience two important factors affecting success and consistency using Nextera based kits are DNA quantity and quality. Cleaning up DNA with columns or bead followed by fluorometric quantitation in two steps ensures yield of 1 ng/ul or higher in PCR which is sufficient for multiplex sequencing. Some DNA samples will do fine without clean up, but addition of this step reduces likelihood of failure.
nucacidhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 11:50 AM   #3
BigAlPal
Junior Member
 
Location: Southeast U.S.

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for your reply nucacidhunter. I was able to get it to work using 6ng input and increased the number of PCR cycles to 15. Got excellent concentrations and beautiful peaks on the tapestation. Not sure why I have to use so much more than the protocol asks for. Maybe because I'm working with plasmids, which are small? Had the same issue with larger, bacterial genomes too but nevertheless, that's what I'll be doing from now on.
BigAlPal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 05:58 PM   #4
snetmcom
Senior Member
 
Location: USA

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 158
Default

How are you quantifying your starting DNA? Nextera is very sensitive to starting amount.
snetmcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 01:39 AM   #5
BigAlPal
Junior Member
 
Location: Southeast U.S.

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snetmcom View Post
How are you quantifying your starting DNA? Nextera is very sensitive to starting amount.
Qbit ds HS assay.
BigAlPal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO