No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To convert BAM file to BED file

Hi,
    I used Bedtools to convert BAM to BED format for my sequencing data. But together with BED I need the corresponding BIM and FAM files, which are not generated automatically by it. It would be really helpful if anyone can suggest me another way for conversion of BAM to BED/BIM/FAM files.

Thank you

Does anybody has an answer to my question??

There seems to be no solution to it ,, but I suppose anybody who experienced it may have an answer to it.

Comment

I'm not experienced but it appears that the BIM and FAM files are formats specifically output by the program PLINK. You don't "convert" a BAM file into these two file types. The BAM files represents your input data and the BED/BIM/FAM files the output of the analysis.

Comment

Thanks

Thanks a lot. I read about PLINK, but it would be helpful, if you discuss about the command to use to convert file formats. Calling plink in linux, says "Connecting to web" and shows error. I would rather like to try the command you suggest.

Comment

Originally posted by Anjali View Post
          Thanks a lot. I read about PLINK, but it would be helpful, if you discuss about the command to use to convert file formats. Calling plink in linux, says "Connecting to web" and shows error. I would rather like to try the command you suggest.
          Anjali,

I didn't suggest any command.

I know nothing about BIM/FAM formats other than they appear to be files created by a particular usage of the PLINK software package.

How about we try a different approach. Why do you believe you need to convert a BAM file into a BED/BIM/FAM file set?

Comment

After further investigation I have found the BED file of the BED/BIM/FAM set produced by PLINK is NOT the same as the commonly understood BED files used for genomic data. The BED file of the BED/BIM/FAM set means Binary PED, and a PED file contains family/phenotype (i.e. pedigree) data.