Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linux or Windows for 454 assembly of bacterial genomes?

I know this has been covered before but I also know that the answer is often "it depends". So here is a brief description of what I am trying to do.

I am new to NGS and working on sequencing small (1 Mb) bacterial genomes (http://seqanswers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24214). I have sequence data for 3 isolates and it appears that I have many gaps (about 80) in each of the assemblies as a result of repeats. So for finishing I have been doing de novo assembly with Newbler, moving contigs with Mauve, and using Ugene for alignments and primer design. This is a lot of work and will get expensive .

Thus far I have been restricted to using Windows for analysis beyond the Newbler assembly. I have been given the go ahead to purchase a computer to install Linux and give me more options for data analysis. But without the experience I am not sure it will necessarily help me out.

Does it seem worthwhile to go ahead with purchase? Will I be able to improve my assemblies and reduce the amount of bench work needed for finishing? Convince me! What kind of computing requirements am I looking at?

Why don't you run a virtual machine of a linux operating system (say Ubuntu or something similar)? Its great to get your feet wet in the linux side of things, and theres few issues if you have problems or break it. If your windows machine has enough resources you will be able to run windows and linux side-by-side. An 1Mb genome is quite small so you don't have to have massive resources.

If, after playing with linux for a while, you feel like you need more resources then you can go ahead with your purchase of a new machine

Comment