SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Sequencing Technologies/Companies > 454 Pyrosequencing



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Agilent Bioanalyzer alternatives? rmetz Sample Prep / Library Generation 20 06-18-2015 12:14 AM
Alternatives to Roche Shotgun and PE protocol Raj 454 Pyrosequencing 1 04-08-2011 04:09 AM
Alternatives to Nugen Ovation RNA-Seq pbluescript Sample Prep / Library Generation 1 02-13-2011 01:14 PM
sffinfo -s inputfile Xterra 454 Pyrosequencing 4 06-18-2010 11:45 AM
sfffile converting quality values andpet 454 Pyrosequencing 2 02-11-2009 11:51 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2010, 02:19 PM   #1
Xterra
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default Alternatives to sfffile & sffinfo

Is there any other way to extract the reads from SFF files without using sfffile and/or sffinfo? I know MatLab can also perform this task but I guess I am looking for a different option.
Xterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 05:25 AM   #2
flxlex
Moderator
 
Location: Oslo, Norway

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 415
Default

One I know of but have no experience with is mentined here: http://blog.malde.org/index.php/2008...binary-format/
flxlex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 05:19 AM   #3
kmcarr
Senior Member
 
Location: USA, Midwest

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,167
Default

sff_extract
kmcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 06:22 AM   #4
Xterra
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default kmcarr

Thank you very much! I have read a lot about sff extract and I just simply forgot about it. Now I just need to find out whether sff_extract can split the files by MIDs and I will be good to go.

Last edited by Xterra; 06-28-2010 at 07:15 AM.
Xterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 06:49 AM   #5
sklages
Senior Member
 
Location: Berlin, DE

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 628
Default

Why don't you want to use sffinfo/sfffile? It's fast and simple :-)
sklages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 07:09 AM   #6
Xterra
Member
 
Location: London

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 27
Default : )

I am actually using sfftools now but I am trying to migrate my pipeline to Windows.
Xterra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO