SEQanswers

Go Back   SEQanswers > Bioinformatics > Bioinformatics



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Primer sequences emPCR and sequencing primer Ion Torrent laurakrol Sample Prep / Library Generation 1 04-25-2014 05:08 AM
removing primer sequences from overlapping amplicons eeyun Bioinformatics 2 06-19-2013 08:41 AM
[question] reads detected sequences out of sequencing primer in the other direction SF_mallish Bioinformatics 2 12-06-2012 02:55 PM
G-SQZ: new tool to compress and index NGS reads KevinLam Bioinformatics 9 07-16-2010 12:02 PM
Removing an unknown primer sequence from reads. mchotalia Bioinformatics 2 09-12-2009 11:57 PM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2017, 10:20 PM   #1
Sacrolfur
Member
 
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Post cutPrimers: new tool for removing primer sequences from targeted NGS reads

I present you new tool for removing primer sequences from NGS reads that were obtained during sequencing amplicon-based targeted panel. You can download it from https://github.com/aakechin/cutPrimers. It runs under any OS: Linux, Mac OS, Windows. If you have any question, you can ask me.

Now, cutPrimers remove primer sequences only from unmapped reads in FASTQ-files. Later, it will be able to cut primer sequences also from mapped reads.

I will be glad to answer for any questions about its use.
Sacrolfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:31 PM   #2
ankitgoyal
Junior Member
 
Location: Mohali

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for updating. Does this work on every windows version?
ankitgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:40 PM   #3
Sacrolfur
Member
 
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I tried it only on the Windows 7. Thank you for the question. I'll try it on the Windows XP and Windows 10
Sacrolfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 11:01 PM   #4
ankitgoyal
Junior Member
 
Location: Mohali

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for replying. Please let me know once you get some results of trying it on other OS. I had to discuss this with my Boss.
ankitgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 01:10 AM   #5
Sacrolfur
Member
 
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I fixed some bugs for using in Windows. And I approved that it works now in Windows 7 and Windows 10. Windows XP will be a little bit later
Sacrolfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 08:49 AM   #6
Sacrolfur
Member
 
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Unfortunately, cutPrimers does not work in Windows XP, because in Windows XP you can not install Python 3.6 and can not install Biopython module, because you can not install Visual Studio C++
Sacrolfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 04:31 AM   #7
garrulus glandarius
Junior Member
 
Location: Ukraine

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Default

When are you going to add a BAM processing option?
garrulus glandarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 08:41 PM   #8
Sacrolfur
Member
 
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

This can be done quickly and easily (I think during a week), but now I don't know how to efficiently read BAM-files in such a way that it will work in Windows. All exisiting Python modules need samtools that doesn't work in Windows. Maybe you know some variants or you can offer me some good algorithm?
Sacrolfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 11:45 PM   #9
garrulus glandarius
Junior Member
 
Location: Ukraine

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the prompt reply.
Maybe you could add this option at least for Linux users?
garrulus glandarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 08:44 PM   #10
Sacrolfur
Member
 
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrulus glandarius View Post
Thanks for the prompt reply.
Maybe you could add this option at least for Linux users?
I'm not sure that I will be able to do it in this year (2017). Maybe in 2018. Why don't you want to use cutPrimers before mapping?
Sacrolfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 04:09 AM   #11
garrulus glandarius
Junior Member
 
Location: Ukraine

Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Because, as far as I know, primer sequences aid in alignment process. Thanks for your answer.
garrulus glandarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 03:25 AM   #12
Sacrolfur
Member
 
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garrulus glandarius View Post
Because, as far as I know, primer sequences aid in alignment process. Thanks for your answer.
It depends on the fragments that you study and the length of reads. In the most of cases, IMHO, sequence of amplicon without primers should be enough for good mapping.
Sacrolfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO