No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RNAseq experimental design

Hi everyone,

I am new to RNAseq analysis and am making preparations for the design of an RNAseq experiment to determine the differentially expressed long non-coding RNAs between virus-infected and uninfected cells in culture.

I would greatly welcome comments on what is optimal for the following or indeed what else I should be considering:

1. RNA prep with DNase I (on-column or in solution digestion?)
    I am using Direct-zol RNA prep from Zymo Reserach with on-column DNAase I digestion.
    2. the library prep
    Illumina TruSeq stranded mRNA library prep kit is the plan. Is oligo-dT capture okay?
    3. what platform is best?
    HiSeq and fast run mode was suggested
    4. what number of reads/per biological replicate is needed
    Is 3 biological replicates and 10 M reads per biological replicate enough?
    5. single read or paired end reads
    Single end is okay?
    6. read length
    >75?

I would be extremely grateful if members could please recommend what kits are best suited to the task as well: Illumina kits? (library preparation kit and ribosomal RNA depletion?) to maximise the chances of success to detect differentially expressed long non-coding RNA transcripts.

Many thanks for your time and expertise and it really is greatly appreciated,

Fitzcarraldo

Most of these questions are going to be answered based on your budget and the scale of your experiment.

If you want to look for rare transcripts, higher sequencing depth per sample will be more important. If you plan on doing lots of samples with many replicates then you may be less interested in reads per sample.

If your goal is purely to look at lncRNA, oligo-dT capture may not be ideal as many - perhaps even most - lncRNA are not polyadenylated. I've never tried it but ribosomal depletion is a popular alternative.